Governance Structure

The Board

SFJ Awards’ Board is ultimately responsible for ensuring that SFJ Awards operate to the highest standards and is compliant with regulators’ requirements.  Our Board members have considerable business experience as well as expertise within the sectors we work in and in education and learning.


  • Erika Bannerman – Chair

    Erika Bannerman is the Managing Director NHS Shared Business Services (SBS), July 2020, and a member of Sopra Steria UK’s Executive Committee.

    Following a successful career in senior leadership roles with Capita and the Manpower Group, leveraging a wide range of skills from management consultancy to technology delivery, Erika’s role at NHS SBS is to harness the organisation’s great people and technology strengths to deliver its purpose: “helping the NHS to save money and enhance quality so that the NHS can improve health, innovate to save lives, and deliver better outcomes with care and compassion.”

    An experienced CEO, Non-Executive Director, Chair and Advisor, serving on a mix of Public, Private and FTSE boards; Government Joint Ventures and Partnerships, Erika has a broad range of experience in business services, consultancy, digital and regulated organisations.

    Erika is on the Partnership Board Committee for the Bookmark Reading Charity, an Education Charity committed to improving child literacy and is also a Consultant to the Social Mobility Commission, an advisory non-departmental public body, sponsored by the Department for Education.

  • Candace Miller – Managing Director

    Candace has had an extensive career at the forefront of vocational education and training developments within the U.K. After several years working for a major awarding organisation, during which time she led a research programme exploring the requirements for effective workplace education across the major sectors of the U.K. economy, Candace set up and ran a successful research and development consultancy. From the early 1990’s until she joined Skills for Health, Candace led, or participated in, a wide range of government driven and/or sector-based initiatives, all designed to drive up the effectiveness of U.K. workforce development, ensure strong employer leadership on skills and create learning pathways that are accessible to all.

  • Gerald Davies – Independent Member

    Gerald worked for thirty years in the City in a variety of senior management roles including most recently, ten years as a Managing Director at Deutsche Bank. His roles at Deutsche Bank ranged from Head of European Institutional Sales to Head of Relationship Management for its Global Markets division in Europe. He left the City in 2009 to study for an MSc in Finance and Development (Economics) at SOAS, University of London.

    Following his MSc he has assembled a portfolio of work in the commercial and voluntary sectors. He is the Senior Advisor to the Board of Metapraxis, a business analysis enterprise. He is a Trustee (chairing the Audit Committee) of the Brandon Trust, which supports over 1500 adults and children with learning difficulties. In addition he has run a business start-up competition in schools.

    Gerald’s interest in the charity sector has recently been reinforced by completing a Postgraduate Diploma in grantmaking, philanthropy and social enterprise at the Cass Business School. He is a keen runner and enjoys long distance walking. He is married with three children and lives in London.

  • Keith Fraser – Independent Member

    Keith Fraser is the Chair of the Youth Justice Board for England and Wales (YJB), appointed by The Secretary of State on April 14, 2020, after becoming a member in January 2018. He is also an Advisor for the National Police Chiefs Council Digital Engagement Project for Young People, Chair of Employability UK, and a trustee on the Board of Sport Birmingham and the National Emergency Services memorial.

    Prior to this, Keith was a Superintendent and Chief Inspector in the West Midlands Police, having joined the Metropolitan Police as a Constable, during which time he produced the 2016-19 Preventing Gang Involvement and Youth Violence strategy and was Head of Learning and Development for 13,000 staff.

    Keith also produced the business plan for City of Wolverhampton council, where he was the Chair of the authority’s statutory Youth Offending Management Board. He led an innovative, preventative project, targeting over 7,000 young people, working with Sport England and was the Strategic Police Lead for the Princes Trust across the West Midlands.

  • Dr Allison Jones – Chair of the Quality and Standards Committee
  • Adam Causon – Non executive director

    Adam Causon heads the Finance and Corporate Services directorate having been with us since 2007. As well as being a chartered accountant Adam is an experienced finance professional having fulfilled numerous roles whilst at Skills for Health including Head of Finance, Chief Accountant, and Senior Management Accountant. Adam has also held various roles within the health sector finance arena both within Primary Care and at an NHS Trust.

  • John Rogers – Chief Executive, Workforce Development Trust

    John Rogers has been the Chief Executive since our establishment in April 2002. Prior to this John was the Chief Executive of Healthwork UK, the national health training organisation, between 2000 and 2002.

    He has worked in the health sector for the last 16 years, during which time he has been involved in national workforce development as a Director at the NHS Training Authority and at a national level with the Department of Health.

The Board meets quarterly.

Quality and Standards Committee

As an Awarding Organisation it is critical that SFJ Awards maintains the highest standards of operation in order to provide learners, centres, regulators and other stakeholders with confidence in us and the qualifications we offer.

The purpose of the Quality and Standards Committee is to oversee the running of SFJ Awards with regard to its Awarding Organisation and regulatory functions in the interest of Learners, Centres, regulators and other stakeholders.  The Quality and Standards Committee meets quarterly and reports directly to the board.

Join the Board and/or the Quality and Standards Committee

We currently have no vacancies on our Board or Quality and Standards Committee.  When vacancies do arise they will be advertised here.