SFJ Awards launches Level 4 Award in Command Support

A brand-new Level 4 Award in Command Support has been launched by SFJ Awards.

Available from 1st April, the qualification offers learners a robust grounding in the Command Support function, equipping Fire & Rescue services to respond collaboratively to large-scale incidents.

Learners will be equipped with the communications and decision-making skills required to take on the role Command Support Officer to ensure clarity of purpose and unity of action between Incident Commanders and operational personnel on the ground.

The launch of the Level 4 Award in Command Support comes hot on the heels of a brand-new suite of Incident Command qualifications introduced last year and has been welcomed by Fire & Rescue services.

Costa Olymbios, Course Director at K Lamb Associates comments:

“Command Support is critical to resolving incidents. However, an incident commander cannot manage a complex and rapidly developing incident alone, meaning that proactive, effective and structured support systems need to be implemented. This is particularly the case at major and multi-agency incidents, or where multiple incidents are occurring. That being so, it is welcome that a trusted awarding organisation such as SFJ Awards has launched this qualification. This will undoubtedly assist in the standardisation of approach to this important role across the UK. I would like to thank SFJ for allowing me to assist in the creation of this award.”

Candace Miller, Executive Director at SFJ Awards adds:

“As incidents become more and more complex, the command support function plays an increasingly vital role in harmonising the response between incident commanders and operational personnel.

“Communication and flexibility are key, which is why learners will gain the knowledge and skills to facilitate an effective move from initial Command Support to the dedicated Command Support unit, as well as reviewing and validating the initial Command Support function.

“With the launch of the Level 4 Award in Command Support, we complement our comprehensive Incident Command suite of qualifications, helping to bolster fire and rescue services across the country as they respond to an ever-evolving environment.”

Learners are required to be competent Level 1 commanders for entry to the Level 4 Award in Command Support.

The total qualification time for the award is 40 hours, with 24 hours of that being a guided learning component.

Having completed the course, learners will be adept at safely facilitating the introduction of Command Support at incidents, managing the effective handover from the initial Command Support and more.

For more information visit: https://sfjawards.com/qualifications/fire-and-rescue/intermediate-command-support/

Latest News

License linked qualifications

SFJ Awards are looking for your feedback on developing regulated qualifications for those involved in the licensing of premises...

Read more