Level 4 Diploma in Restorative Practice and Processes

About the Qualification

SFJ Awards Level 4 Diploma in Restorative Practice and Processes
Qualification Number: 603/2143/X

The objective of the SFJ Awards Level 4 Diploma in Restorative Practice and Processes is to develop learners’ knowledge and skills in facilitating community-based restorative practice.  The qualification has been developed to meet the requirements of community-based restorative practitioners in Northern Ireland by having a structure and content which reflects the knowledge and skills they need, including reference to and aspects of the Protocol for Community-Based Restorative Justice Schemes. It has been developed by SFJ Awards in collaboration with partners in Northern Ireland, Time-Out Assessment Centre, Community Restorative Justice Ireland and Northern Ireland Alternatives, and is accredited by CCEA Regulation. The qualification is available in Northern Ireland only.

Restorative Justice Council (RJC) Accreditation

Accredited qualification logo CMYK resized

The SFJ Awards Level 4 Diploma in Restorative Practice and Processes is approved by the Restorative Justice Council (RJC) and therefore holds the Accredited Qualification Mark (AQM). This is a quality mark for qualifications, learning programmes and customised awards in restorative practice that meet rigorous standards developed and monitored by the RJC. Practitioners who have successfully completed the SFJ Awards Level 4 Diploma in Restorative Practice and Processes will be eligible to become Accredited Practitioners on the RJC’s Practitioner Register.  For more information, please see the Restorative Justice Council’s website.

Case Study with Time-Out Assessment Centre

Our case-study shows how we worked together with Time-Out Assessment Centre to develop new restorative practice qualifications for Northern Ireland:

Community-based Restorative Practice – Promoting Excellence in Northern Ireland

Achieving the Qualification

To achieve this qualification, learners must achieve all six mandatory units and one optional unit.

Mandatory units:

  1. Understand the principles of restorative practice
  2. Assess the circumstances of incidents towards identifying restorative responses
  3. Engage with and prepare participants for a restorative process
  4. Facilitate participants’ interaction within restorative processes
  5. Evaluate the outcomes from restorative processes
  6. Contribute to resolving community issues with restorative approaches

Optional units:

  1. Co-work within the restorative process
  2. Build and sustain working relationships with stakeholders

Total Qualification Time (TQT):  410 hours
Guided Learning Hours (GLH):  179

Pre-entry Requirements

There are no pre-entry requirements for enrolling to complete this qualification.  However, learners will require suitable literacy and numeracy skills to meet the requirements of the assessment criteria.  To successfully achieve the SFJ Awards Level 4 Diploma in Restorative Practice and Processes, learners will need to be involved in the restorative practice process.

If you would like more information about this qualification, please contact the team on 0114 284 1970 or at info@sfjawards.com.